Idea Filing System

October 2, 2011 § 1 Comment

From now on, I keep my ideas organized by filing them into a ring binder. I tried out the idea of the idea box for a while, by placing all of my yet unprocessed, not categorized ideas in a box, for later reference.

Since I hadn’t done anything about any of the ideas in the idea box, I thought I’d go through the ideas and file them in a binder instead. As I started this, I thought, why not organize all my unfinished projects and ideas in the binder? Some of these ongoing projects are already organized in a filing system, but I also have notes, like the ones collected in the idea box, and numerous notebooks from a couple of years back. So I decided to file all the ideas that were in the notebooks as well, by cutting out the pages and sorting them and placing those in the binder, too.

I created four tabs, or categories (see picture above). The first one (green tab) is for new and old ideas that I plan to make something of some day. For each project and each idea in this category, I typed out a paper with the title of the project and a brief description. And added the title to an index in the beginning of the binder, for quick reference.  The second tab (yellow) is for ongoing projects that I’ve had time to develop and maybe worked with for a while. That is, ideas that are a bit more complex and can’t be given a brief description. Under this tab, I inserted another tab index from A-Z (see below). Everything related to that project, from loose notes, index cards, post-it notes and pages I cut out from the idea notebooks, is sorted and filed under the project they belong to (for instance, everything related to “Forests” is placed under that tab, and everything related to this blog is under the “Meaxylon” tab. And so on.)

Sometimes I have more material related to the projects: sketches, photographs, drawings, print-outs… These things are stored in the folders of my filing system:

.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Idea Filing System

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Idea Filing System at meaxylon.

meta

