Michel Gondry

February 11, 2011 § 1 Comment

– Do you run around with a notebook to jot down ideas?

– I have notebooks but they are terribly messy. I always start saying, “this notebook will be the only one for this project” and within five minutes I am working on another project and they end up very hard to read. I think what I write down goes into my brain better but it doesn’t mean that I’m going to read it again.

(Interview with Michel Gondry)

I always feel bad about my own sketchbooks/notebooks when I see how other people use their sketchbooks (full of beautiful drawings, neat hand-writing, etc). Mine are messy, disorganized, full of scribbles, bad ideas mixed with good ideas, and I’ll only use a fraction of what I write/draw in them. I thought this quote from Gondry was quite amusing, because I work the same way! I start out with the intention to dedicate one notebook to one project, and one project only, but it *never* works. Or I think: “this time I’ll really put effort into making the sketches look nice and keeping the writing organized”. I guess my brain just doesn’t work like that.

The quote is from Juxtapoz Magazine (January 2011).

Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to Michel Gondry

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Michel Gondry at meaxylon.

meta

