Using index cards for text editing

January 16, 2011 § 1 Comment

I’m going to make a book.

So far, this is what I’ve done (and how):

1. I assembled texts I had written on this topic, and I selected parts from my texts that I thought would work for my book. It’s going to be a rather short book. I tried to choose sentences that were to-the-point, and parts of the texts that shared common themes.

2. I wrote down these sentences and short passages, rephrasing and splitting up paragraphs where I felt necessary, on separate index cards. Some cards had only one sentence, others had 3 or 4 sentences. Then I rearranged the cards, so that the connections between the themes became as clear as possible. I had made a diagram of the relations between the texts, which showed that the connections weren’t exactly linear (see the top index card in the middle picture below). So there was some shuffling/sorting/reordering that had to be done before I was happy with the outcome.

3. I made a layout for the pages of the book, based on the order of the index cards. (Btw, that last image – yes, that is how awful my 1st sketches look.)

1. 2. 3.

Related posts

Follow up posts

.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ One Response to Using index cards for text editing

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Using index cards for text editing at meaxylon.

meta

