Reading now: Landscape and Memory by Simon Schama

November 13, 2010 § 5 Comments


Skog = Forest

I’ve just started reading Landscape and Memory, by Simon Schama.

I borrowed it from the library. I hope noone will mind that I’m writing down my own notes on the pages of the book. I promise that I will erase my writing later when it’s time to return the book to the library. I would, as I usually do, mark interesting passages by placing paper bookmarks and write down interesting thoughts and ideas on a separate paper, but there are just too many interesting sentences so I’d have to copy something from every page.

The cover reminded me that I have written a short essay on Albrecht Altdorfer’s painting “St George and the Dragon”. I’ll summarize that text and post it here at another date!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Reading now: Landscape and Memory by Simon Schama

  • G.R. says:

    intend to investigate, thanx again

  • […] now read “In the Realm of the Lithuanian Bison”, the first chapter of Landscape and Memory. So far, I feel I have come across some interesting ideas presented by Schama. One of them is the […]

  • SKOG, I like this word…. RT (and what about St. George & the Dragon? this requires some more thinking…) RT

    • Maria says:

      Yes, St George & the Dragon requires more thinking :) I have yet to translate the text (but will shorten it at the same time). After flipping trough the pages of the book I also noticed one of the illustrations inside the book showed the painting, which means that more than likely Schama has made some comments regarding it too… So I’m now thinking I should wait till I get to that part of the book, and see if I can compare his thoughts about it with mine, in a constructive way…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Reading now: Landscape and Memory by Simon Schama at meaxylon.

meta

