What I Liked About Imperial Bedrooms, Even Though I Have To Say I’m Disappointed Because It Was No Lunar Park

October 5, 2010 § 3 Comments

Things I liked about Imperial Bedrooms

  • The beginning.
  • Raymond Chandler. At many points the plot and the atmosphere makes me think of The Big Sleep, which is a very good thing.
  • That “Clay”, the narrating “I” in Imperial Bedrooms and its predecessor Less Than Zero, isn’t the same Clay since Clay in LTZ was narrated by someone who is here referred to as “the writer”, while this narrator claims to be the real Clay.
  • The way that the text messages effectively is used as a plot device, especially the text messages from Clay’s mystery stalker. There’s something innocently playful yet sinister about them. Hey gringo, you can’t hide ;)
  • YouTube is woven into the plot, and Imdb as well, and it works well here too. Maybe the intermingling of familiar and ordinary things with the extra-ordinary and dreadful is what makes some of the scenes in the book extremely creepy, because it makes it so easy to imagine them.
  • The Blue Jeep and the Black Mercedes – which again reminds me of Chandler.
  • The dreams about the boy with the dragon tattoo, who lived in room 1508.
  • Something about the story that isn’t revealed until closer to the end of the book (although you can sense it coming).
  • The last page.
Tagged: , , ,

§ 3 Responses to What I Liked About Imperial Bedrooms, Even Though I Have To Say I’m Disappointed Because It Was No Lunar Park

  • Maria says:

    The things that make me dislike Imperial Bedrooms

    -The Scene that takes place in Palm Springs
    -The description of the video clips circling the net

  • namelessneed says:

    not many years back, at Portland,O.’s shiniest travelbook attraction, Powell’s Bookstore
    Mr. Ellis was in the house pitching his wonderful Lunar Park, reading long exerpts, rumpled and witty as one might expect.
    I haven’t read this latest one but there are enough arguments For that you left me, they outweighed the “don’t do it”s
    thanx again for clicking
    G

  • Maria says:

    I had very mixed feelings about Imperial Bedrooms just after reading it… but when the impact/impression of the most violent and grotesque scenes had worn away, I mostly remeber what I liked about the book. I might have to read it again though.

    And you got to see/hear Bret in person – I’m really envious :) I hear he is on an european tour right now, but I don’t think he’s coming to my country.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading What I Liked About Imperial Bedrooms, Even Though I Have To Say I’m Disappointed Because It Was No Lunar Park at meaxylon.

meta

